The Moment Of Truth poster

The Moment Of Truth

A republic is poised to fall. The only remaining members of an unpopular government are its cynical Prime Minister and a naïve, emotional Foreign Secretary. The invading army has it’s boots upon the soil of this crumbling nation. Inside the cabinet office, toy soldiers and old icons of military glory veil the realities of war and bloodshed. Death, in a moment of truth was never so real.

By Peter Ustinov

Directed by Robert Laycock

In its first professional staging since an acclaimed 1951 premiere, Peter Ustinov’s largely forgotten play is about the mechanics of toppling governments, the pretences of war and the power of propaganda.



Bonnie Wright as The Girl, Callum Coates as the General, Damian Quinn as The Victor, Mark Carey as The Foreign Minister, Miles Richardson as The Prime Minister, Tony Kanal as The Nurse, Rodney Bewes as The Marshall and Daniel Souter as The Photographer.


Designed by Alex Marker, Original Score by Christopher Littlewood, Sound Designer Matthew Tarbuck, Lighting Designer Alex Marshal